A disappointment

on

It serves me right. I tried to cut a corner!

I need a crochet blanket quickly. It must be bright and cheerful, so, rather than spend time dyeing one I chose a bright and cheeerful combination that I have seen far and wide around the Web.

I’m not enjoying it.

It’s a Stylecraft yarn, but it’s a novelty yarn – and each time I’ve chosen one of their novelty yarns I’ve found the standard to be less than good. Finishing this blanket, although small, will be tedious, but I’ll continue rather than waste the yarn. I won’t buy it again, though.

The yarn I’m using at the moment is on the left – the one I used previously on the right. Lumps, breaks and uneven thickness are problems I’ve encountered so far. Such a shame. I buy the yarn to support our local shop – it’s the only make they sell.

On a more positive note, however, ICAD (Index Card a Day) 2016 is well underway and it’s fitting in perfectly with my nine patches – Cards in the morning and patches at night. You will have to wait for the nine patches – but here are the first five cards

Are you joining in? It’s fun, and although there are prompts, they are only suggested and not obligatory.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sandy says:

    I’m getting spoiled by using nice yarns and can feel you frustration. It will still be pretty.

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Oh what a shame, it looks very pretty. I’m using a basic stylecraft chunky for blankies at the moment, but I wouldn’t know the difference in quality and I’m not good enough at crochet to justify spending lots. Is there a yarn you’d recommend that isn’t too expensive?

  3. Such a shame to have bad quality around … no need surely! I was hugely disappointed with the quality of the Rowan fabrics … these are so thin as to be practically useless for patchwork and VERY expensive! The designs are great but the fabrics …. urgh

How will I know you have visited if you don't leave a comment?

