Making a start

So, you have an idea for a piece of work. Where do you start?

My starting place is usually my sketchbook or my journal – scribbles, drawings, notes …. they all add up to starting places. Then, comes the difficult bit! What to do next!!

We all have our favourite ways of working. My ‘fail safe’ method of design is to resort to collage – but it isn’t always a question of ‘tear and stick’, sometimes other elements have to be considered.

This piece began with shapes translated from the sketchbook. Photocopied and enlarged it makes a good surface for experiments.

IMG_3543

During the process of this collage many parts of the elements may disappear, and in spite of what yuo see here, the finished result will be full of colour!

I love working this way – you never quite know what you will find.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. qldmaggie says:

    That is interesting Myfanwy, thank you. I have been doing lots of 15 minutes, all on various projects. I’ll be away ( In Bali ) until 15th August. I’ll take a little bit of hand embroidery stuff with me, but may not get 15 mins in every day…..because I’ll be trying to keep up with my daughter…..hahaha, she LOVES to shop.

    1. nuvofelt says:

      What a lovely trip. You will come back newly inspired. Hope you get the chance to see and buy lots of fabric 😂

  2. I knew you had visited nuvofelt and you didn’t leave a comment. Lol but Thanks for visiting.

    We all were made in God’s image and He is a Creator how we express our own creativity can be good or bad depending on our focus or we can leave it dormant without expression, so good you don’t do this nuvofelt, you are very gifted.

    Blessings – Anne

    1. nuvofelt says:

      Hope you understand why now, Anne. I wasn’t ignoring you 😉

      Thank you for your kind comment. I owe it all to Him, and He has opened so many doors – there can be no other source.

How will I know you have visited if you don't leave a comment?

