Tension 

on

The wonderful thing about creativity is that there is something out there for everyone! None of us is good at everything all the time, and that is certainly true for me. There are two things which I only touch under great pressure.

Knitting makes me tense beyond measure. I will share an anecdote with you on another day when I have photographs to back it up, but for choice I will avoid it at all costs. When I do force myself to knit the fabric is even and to correct tension – but…… the pain and suffering I go through to get there is not worth enduring.

There is another skill that causes me similar frustrations.

Beading!

IMG_3491

This ring was made for my by my very good friend Margaret. Sadly I don’t see her at all often any more as she has moved far away, but if you asked her about my efforts at beading she would probably laugh derisively! She has the patience of Job – and tried on many occasions to induct me into the pleasures of the craft. No matter how hard I tried I ended up with a disaster.

Beads? Well, I might add the odd one or two to stitching (that’s my intention today, by the way) but as for anything else ………!!

How about you? Do you like beading? Is there something you just can’t master? Is there something you really dislike doing?

Isn’t it great that we are all so different!

16 Comments Add yours

  1. dorothyag says:

    I dislike knitting and only ever do something VERY small. I can’t crochet either. I don’t even do that htese days as I get cramp badly in my hands…. good enough excuse! 🙂
    I do like beading now and again though.

    1. nuvofelt says:

      Do I remember you doing beading at West Dean, Dorothy? Those were the days……!

      1. dorothyag says:

        I think you might Myfanwy. I also did some at AVG. Two of my favourite places!

      2. nuvofelt says:

        Whatever happened to Jane Rowe? I know she went into printing – and then I lost touch. I think you went to some of her workshops, didn’t you? And, of course, Val C-H

      3. dorothyag says:

        I really don’t know. We used to exchange Christmas cards for ages then they just stopped and I don’t know anyone to ask.
        I used to love my stmpwork classes with her. 🙂

      4. nuvofelt says:

        Same happened here, and again, no-one to ask. Her workshops were fun – and nothing like anyone else is doing.

        I know she changed course and went into monoprinting on paper, and I think her husband died – but not sure what happened after that. I presume she is still in Cornwall.

  2. id0n0van says:

    I love knitting, especially Aran, and have taught myself simple crochet which I also enjoy! I have never tried beading but enjoy stitching odd beads in my work.

    1. nuvofelt says:

      Your knitting is lovely, Irene. The last time I ‘seriously’ knitted was to use it on the Embellisher for TV.

  3. Bossymamma says:

    Funnily enough I shall be attempting beading for only the second time (the first was about 15 years ago) on this coming Tuesday evening. It’s the first session of a new craft group I have helped set up. Wish me luck!

    1. nuvofelt says:

      Enjoy, Dina, it will be a lovely evening. I’ve seen some beautiful work (Margaret’s is amongst it) but know that I’ll never get there….. 😀

  4. I love knitting and find it the ultimate relaxation but don’t have enough spare time to do it as much as I’d like. Tambour beading is something I really don’t have the patience for, so I have written it off as something to put in the ‘life’s too short’ category!

    1. nuvofelt says:

      Yes, there isn’t much time for everything when starting out on this textile thingy. Thankfully I know my limitations, even allowing for time. Thanks for dropping in, I wish you success with your venture.

  5. Beading is not on my list of things to do either. Too fiddly and I am too impatient. Will put the odd bead on here and there when stitching. But that is it.
    Knitting is a favourite thing but I don’t do it as much as I used to. Even had a knitting machine at one stage. Have a large pile of Marion Nelson’s machine knitting pattern cards in the cupboard which I now use for BC postcards 😀
    I am no good at sticking to patterns and always change something or other. Used to do embroidery cross stitch but again never sticking to the pattern exactly. It bores me … is too much like painting with numbers.
    I like mixing everything up, knitting and crochet, embroidery and painting etc etc … all these textures and the scope for lots and lots of colours 😀

  6. hugmamma says:

    Wonderful to see that you’re still sharing your lovely ways…as a person…and an artist. Lots of hugs… 🙂

    1. nuvofelt says:

      Was thinking about you just today ☺️. Are you celebrating this weekend? Thanks for dropping in, much appreciated 😘

How will I know you have visited if you don't leave a comment?

