Do you Gelli?

010

Printing is definitely the flavour of the…… well, more than the month. Everyone wants to use it in their work, and I’m sure that most of the reason is that Gelli plates are everywhere on the internet.

I love printing, and have used it to create texture, both on fabric and paper, for many years. I was first introduced to mono-printing by the late Vicky Lugg, and for a long time continued using the techniques she taught using perspex sheets as a base. I developed it further by wrapping these sheets with clear food wrap for extra texture, and this can also be used to enclose other items to create patterns within the prints. Currently, however, even though I have a Gelli plate, I’m using another technique that I honestly think is more versatile, and this is a brief introduction.

The best bit about this is that it is a very cheap way to produce prints. All you need is

paint or ink,
some way of applying the paint (credit-type card, paintbrush or brayer)
and….

005

a mouse mat encapsulated in a polythene bag!

008

If the bag fits snuggly (just smooth it out and stick with masking tape on the reverse) the prints are lovely and smooth, but if you leave just a little bit of air in the bag before applying the masking tape you can begin to see the possibilities of texture

014

and layering

011

Of course, you CAN use sharp objects on the surface – because, it’s only a replaceable polybag on the surface. The technique I’ve shared is just the tip of the iceberg. For instance…. what happens if you put textured items inside the bag…… corrugated cardboard, metal washers…… you get the idea, and you could even put a pattern underneath so that you know exactly where to put the colour.

Many of my sketchbooks are covered with prints including the one below which was made in several layers.

004

Fancy a try? Don’t forget to link back to this post.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. What an excellent idea :D.
    Haven’t printed for ages because I make such a mess hehehe … but the summer break is nearly there and I’ve got my papers out ready last weekend.
    Seen the technique with clingfilm all scrunched up … want to try that and also having the texture items underneath a layer of plastic. Did not have much success with those last time.
    All that trouble taken to have a smooth surface (at some price too!) and then immediately start carrying on with texture-izing it hehehe …
    Also used too much paint at the time, I think.
    Sooo…..Must have another go because I look at the old papers I did last year and see paintings proper appear in them 😀 and ….. I DO love my colour!

  2. qldmaggie says:

    Wonderful Myfanwy, thank you .

  3. Angela Graham says:

    Thanks for the hints and tips Myfanwy. I shall do some experimenting and see how I get on!

    1. nuvofelt says:

      Look forward to seeing the results, Angela, it is fun! Thanks for dropping in.

  4. Kay haskins says:

    Great ideas Myfanwy which I will definitely try. I like drawing into the polystyrene from pizza bases and then printing with that. You can cut it into smaller pieces or use as a circle!

    1. nuvofelt says:

      Yes, Kay, they are good aren’t they – especially as one side if often textured. Glad you are enjoying the posts. Thanks for commenting – much appreciated.

  5. mcravino says:

    Love this idea – especially putting textures in the bag. Instant collagraph.

    1. nuvofelt says:

      Exactly! 😀. It’s a simple idea but it works!

How will I know you have visited if you don't leave a comment?

